• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
USB MIDI device not available from time to time
I've been using MSP for many months, selecting the program for each song on my keyboard (Kurzweil Forte) via MIDI program change without hassle on Windows 11.
Some weeks ago, this suddenly stopped working. Having a look to the MIDI devices list in MSP, it didn't show up at all any more - although listed in the device manager.
Disconnecting and reconnecting didn't help, rebooting didn't help. Replacing the USB cable seemed to help - which unfortuntely turned out to be coincidence, the issue disappered just temporarily. Sill same problem after downgrade to Windows 10.

In short: for the last weeks, the MIDI connection randomly worked or didn't. Oftenly, In many cases, I could get it working again, if I disconnected/reconnected USB during a reboot (however I'm not sure, if this really helps. The human mind tends to see correlation when there is just coincidence), sometimes I end up changing the programs manually during a session, as nothing seems to help. Thats not very nice.

I've done a lot of investigation in the web. What I found seems to be a problem related to windows >= 10. Windows behaves kind of silly, if you connect any USB device to a different port. It then isn't reognized as the same, but as a new device, while the former connection is still registered; one can see this, if "show hidden devices" (not sure about the wording, in german: "ausgeblendete Geräte anzeigen") is selected in the device manager. Even more silly, there's a kind of limit of 10 MIDI device entries (which would already be the case, once you have plugged the same device to 11 different USB ports, as the former connection entries stay registered). More than 10 registered USB entries de facto are possible, but devices 11, 12, ... seem to be handled a bit different.