• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Importing by clicking a file duplicates the entry
Smile 
Hi there,

I have been using mobile sheets pro for a couple of years now, and am very happy with it. Just one thing "bugs" me sing I have been using MSPro...

Not sure if it is a bug or a feature, but I find the following unexpected behavior, in case there was already an entry with the same name.

1) open dropbox (or synology drive client)
2) navigate to the PDF file to import
3) "click" the file, this opens in my case the "open with" menu as I have not fixed the pdf type to a single app.
4) Select "open with mobile sheets pro"
5) MSPro starts and  reports "file already exists" and allows to select "Replace file", "rename file", "use existing file".
6) I select "Replace file"

Expected: keep the existing entry and just replace the old PDF is replaced with the new one
Actual: a new entry is created linking to the imported file, and an old entry is kept, but also linking to the new file.

7) I end up deleting the "duplicate" entries manually...

Huh  Did I pick the wrong entry? Or is t a bug?

Regards

Hans
I find this sort of confusing as well.

When you know you are changing an existing file, use the swap file option (press three vertical dots at top right). You will still get prompted what to do ( I don't know why because you have already said you want to swap the file)

You might want to check that the Title field on the Import Settings  dialog is  set to "Use Filename As Title" rather than "Guess Title from FileName".

Geoff
Samsung Galaxy Tab A6
So just to explain the behavior: