• 1 Vote(s) - 4 Average
My first gig with MobileSheets
Not sure if this will be of any use to anyone, but...

My background:

I'm sort of an upper intermediate piano player - I mostly read music and I maintain a working repertoire of about 50 songs (but I can fake my way through most popular sheet music.) I only started playing in public regularly in the last few years, and mostly for "sympathetic" employers (people that already knew me and we're willing to help me get started despite the fact that I'm no Liberace.) I had a pretty regular gig this summer at a restaurant - three days a week for some long hours - about 15 hours a week.

At the end of the summer, I lost the restaurant gig to a classical pianist, and I started advertising for local jobs, got one, and, at the same time, got interested in moving from printed sheet music to a tablet.

My Equipment:

Tablet: Galaxy Tab 12.1" (just bought it)
Piano: I have a lot of pianos, more than somebody at my level should really have, but... for this gig I went with my Roland 700NX. It's a pretty solid digital piano, lots of bells and whistles, really good piano keyboard feel/articulation. It does NOT have a music stand.
Pedal: PageFlip Firefly
Tablet Clamp: ChargerCity Music Mic Microphone Stand Tablet Mount with 360° Swivel Adjustment Holder
Music Software: MobileSheets

My experience:
Given that I'm not the world's greatest player, and I had about two weeks to practice with the Mobilesheets and the page turner pedal, I was a bit anxious about taking the plunge. On the other hand, laying out five page songs on a couple of music stands does not look "all-pro", and songs greater than 5 pages are generally not worth the trouble. (I am also not good at turning regular book pages so I print out all the music on individual pages, lay 'em out consecutively on a music stand, or stands, and have at it.)