• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
String Quartet
Hello, 
I am a newbie to MobileSheets and busily getting ready to start using it for our string quartet. 
I have seen previous posts about making 'roles' so that in the future the viola player would have the viola part automatically appear when the 'leader' selects the violin 1 part. This sounds awesome. As I am currently setting up the file management from scratch, I wondered if I could 'get ready' for this feature by doing the following 

Currently I have files names such as 
Coldplay - Yellow Violin 1 
Coldplay - Yellow Violin 2 etc 

Should I insert the role into a custom field (e.g. Violin 1) so that when the new feature is rolled out, a player could select their role ? 
Would I need to change the file name to remove the role from the file name (which is how it is currently) 
E.g. four versions of 
Coldplay - Yellow

Currently I am anticipating having the role in the filename (that's how I have it stored as PDFs) and everyone just selects their own PDFs from their tablet. 

But in the future I love the idea of being able to use the leader-follower function and reduce the need for everyone to be searching through file names. 

All advice at this early stage is appreciated. 

Amy
I'm guessing Mike will create a a new field for the role.

The main thing you should do is to make sure that every piece has your desired role in one of the fields.
When roles become available  you should be able to use a filter to put each person's pieces into their role.

The song names for each role would probably be identical on each tablet but I'm  guessing that you can use song id numbers if they are not identical i.e. the role is in the song name

There's a lot of guessing here!

Geoff
Samsung Galaxy Tab A6
Amy, I can't answer your question about how to best set up your tablets for the versioning feature but I have four tablets set up to use the leader-follower function for a string quartet so here are my thoughts.