• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Migrate from Android to iPad with NAS
Hello, 

I used the following setup for several years: 

* Synology NAS with Synology Drive that syncs all the sheet music between several devices into a folder on my devices
* Old Android tablet with Mobile Sheets pro. I manually imported new sheet music from the folder into the library

Now I bought an iPad pro 13:
* I'd like to use my old library with all my notes and metadata on the iPad
* I want to use the synced folder for this
* If I use a backup, the app will not the synced data but do a copy. 

What I tried:
* Synced sheet music on iPad
* Imported Android mobilesheets.db
* Tried to fix the path by automatic change. This results in a crash. As soon I link a file to the new path the app crashes and closes.
* Tried to modify the .db  - Problem: I don't get the path on iOS. (I'm new to Apple, I can't find a path like folder/folder/file, just paths like "random location > random folder > file".

Do you have any ideas on this usecase? :-)
Is there a reason you don't want to use the sync library feature that's built-in to MobileSheets itself? Regardless, file paths are stored relative to the storage location, so you shouldn't be having to mess with the database at all as long as you didn't uncheck the option to "Let MobileSheets Manage my Files". If you unchecked that and have been importing files from another location, then it's not going to be easy to do what you are trying to do. I would recommend starting over, change the storage location to the folder under which all of your files are stored, leave "Let MobileSheets Manage my Files" on, and import your files from under that folder. They should be left at their original location, and then you can just sync the database file itself between Android and iOS (and the PDFs and such as well) and it should be seamless.

Mike
Hi Mike,
Thanks for your quick answer.